Ristorante Fiore

250 Hanover Street

Boston MA

August 23, 2016

The North End is so beautiful in the summer time, with the hustle and bustle of tourists filling the streets and all of the windows open to the street. I absolutely love this time of year when there are flowers on the window sills instead of the bitter cold and gross snow piles we tend to see for four months out of the year. With the weather being so nice, I decided to try to find a rooftop terrace like restaurant for my dad and I to enjoy a fantastic meal with a great view.

I had looked up Ristorante Fiore and saw it had a rooftop bar and seating, and figured we should check it out. Their menu didn’t look half bad either..

After performing what may be one of the best parallel parking jobs ever, we ended up having to relocate the car anyway because of valet parking. (lol at our lives). We did find another parking spot on Hanover that was much easier to get into with the truck filled with a bunch of my stuff for my new apartment.

We then continued to walk down Hanover until we reached 250 Hanover St, home of Ristorante Fiore. It was a little before 4pm, so it wasn’t exactly dinner, but a super late lunch. Anyways, we went all the way upstairs to the rooftop bar/seating area. We were helped by the super nice bartender Tim. It was a cool vibe and although I was slightly dissapointed there wasn’t the view of Hanover Street to look at, it was cute with the lights and well decorated for the summer time vibe. I think if I were 21 and could enjoy a glass of wine with an appetizer, I would have loved this place even more.

We were able to order off of the lunch menu, making the meal quite a bit cheaper which was nice. My dad and I both ordered specials of the day. Going in, I planned on getting my chicken broccoli ziti, but after looking at the specials decided that could wait for another day.

I forget what it was called (sorry peeps) but it was chicken breast with mushrooms, artichoke hearts, and spinach in a tomato cream sauce with homemade pasta. The pasta was the pinwheel, long type and no lie, was so well made I thought I was in Florence, Italy again. Bravo to you, Ristorante Fiore, for finally making an Al Dente pasta, unlike many of these restaurants. This meal is in my top five favorite meals from the North End…and after the first bite I knew it was just THAT GOOD. Unfortunately I could only eat half of it because I got so full, but my dad was happy to finish it, and loved it as well.

My dad ordered a special dish that was sausage, roasted red peppers, onions on top of roasted tomatoes in a (wine?) sauce. He loved it. Also, the bread was super good, with the olive oil rich and full of flavor…also reminding me of the olive oil from the vineyard I went to in Tuscany.

Okay, so ratings:

Price: Lunch: $$, Dinner: $$$

Food: 5/5

Atmosphere: 4/5 (I think the seating inside would have also been beautiful, I just wish there was more of a view)

Service: 4.5/5

OVERALL: 4.5/5

I’d also love to add to this post…

IMG_4519I went back to Ristorante Fiore with my best friend, Sophia and her parents two days later after telling them what a good meal I had had, they wanted to give this place a try. We sat out on the terrace bordering the street and it was a beautiful night! Again, everyone was extremely pleased with their meal. We had a bottle of Pinot Noir from the Napa region along with calamari and arancini. The calamari had very spicy peppers with it that added a great flavor and twist to the dish. That was the first time I had had arancini and was very pleased with the ball filled with gooey cheese. The wine was also multo bene đŸ™‚

I had the eggplant parmesan (Parmigiana di Melanzane) and I have to say its definitely the best one I’ve ever had. I wouldn’t consider myself and expert on the dish but this version was absolutely heavenly. It reminded me more of a lasagna the way it came out…man I wish I was eating it currently. If I were able to go back, I’d have a hard time deciding what to get because each dish looked absolutely spectacular. Scott, Sophia’s dad ordered Chitarre alla Scogliera which is Calamari, mussels, clams, shrimp, scallops, white wine, tomato, chili pepper, fresh herbs and homemade pasta, Celeste, Sophia’s mom ordered Veal Parmigiana and Soph ordered the gnocchi. All super pleased and I was happy to not disappoint! They had high expectations for my recommendation đŸ˜‰

Again, 5/5 for food on this one. I’d probably say our waitress could smile more but she seemed like she was probably born in Italy with her accent…pretty cool!

Ciao Sophia, buona fortuna bella xoxoxoxo

 

Leave a Reply

